John Muir Award

The John Muir Award is an environmental award scheme for people of all backgrounds – groups, families or individuals. It’s non-competitive, inclusive and accessible! Please contact us for further information.


Four Challenges are at the heart of each John Muir Award. To achieve an Award each participant must:

  • Discover a wild place
  • Explore its wildness
  • Conserve - take personal responsibility
  • Share experiences

Participants should show enthusiasm and commitment, and have an awareness about John Muir. 


There are 3 levels of the Award, encouraging a progressive involvement.


The same 4 challenges are repeated for each level, with increased involvement in time, activity and ownership.

  1. Discovery Award (introductory level) - minimum 4 days
  2. Explorer Award (intermediate level) - minimum 8 days
  3. Conserver Award (advanced level) - minimum 20 days over 6 months
Print Print | Sitemap
© 2017-2019 Adur Centre